Tuesday, October 20, 2009

Fannie May Deal Update!

I just want to update you all on the Fannie May deals I posted! It looks like Fanny May is charging most of us for shipping (including me)... even though it did NOT state that on our orders. I understand your frustration over this and apologize for not catching it sooner.

Quite a few readers have called customer service regarding this.
Here's some of the comments they've left:

I had a really nice chat with a costumer service guy. He was very polite and apologetic. However, he said it's company policy that the dollar amount off is only for items that are being bought...and will not extend to shipping. Sorry, Ladies. I told him I was sorry for him too because he'll probably be canceling a lot of orders this afternoon. :)

Just called and the polite rep didn't have a clue about there being a problem. No charge yet on my cc. Their system wasn't updated with my order to confirm price.

When I called about the false shipping charge they said that coupon codes never cover shipping charges.....I canceled my order.
*************************************

Anyway, the point of this post is to make sure everyone checks their account activity. I would suggest calling Fanny May directly and getting everything straightened out. I'm guessing most of us will have to cancel our orders.

Another reader left this comment:
It's great to get super deals, but remember what our parents and others have told us "if it sounds to good to be true it probably is"

This comment is very true, but sometimes the deals are just hard to resist... especially when chocolates involved!:) I try hard to weed out the bad deals and scams...
I promise and I do apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you.

62 comments:

Anonymous said...

i just checked- and bot the foil leaves and pumpkin balls are "sold out" anyhow! oh well! :)

Anonymous said...

dont stress we appreciate it.. It happens no big deal either cxl it or go with it...

Anonymous said...

We appreciate all of the good deals, regardless of one that didn't work out!

Betsy said...

No need to apologize, it's not your fault! It was the company's mistake/deceptiveness. When they tell you they aren't charging you shipping and that's what your order total says, you have no reason to believe otherwise! Thanks for all your hard work :)

Lindsey said...

not your fault Collin- thanks for finding ALL of the deals - good and bad- that we wouldn't be able to find on our own:)

Anonymous said...

Don't apologize Collin. We love you and nobody should ever forget all the good deals that you get for us. If once in a bluemoon something goes wrong, nobody has the right to point fingers at you.

Anonymous said...

It happens Ithiptosave. Do not feel bad. We still love your site and deals you provide us. You've help me save so much since I first discovered your site. Thanks a million!

Anonymous said...

We are not mad! We are all so lucky that you do this website for us!! How could we EVER be upset at you!!!!

MommySpendsLess (formerly Learning2CoupnFL) said...

It would have been a great deal if it had gone through and I think most of us were aware that we were trying to jump through a loophole so don't worry that it didn't work out.

The transaction is still listed as pending but it's at $18.23 for the truffles with the $25 coupon code. It looks like they charged me for the product plus tax and just gave free shipping. I sent them the following email and I'm waiting on a response.

I placed an order with your company this afternoon. After using a coupon code, my total for a box of truffles was $0.24. I realize that this is a fantastic deal and one that perhaps should not have gone through your system as it did. However I received a confirmation from your website and the confirmation email listed below that my order had been processed for $0.24.

My bank statement is showing a pending transaction by Fannie May Confections for $18.23. Will this be updated to the correct total once the order finishes processing or have you pulled the promotion?

If the promotion has been pulled, I would like my order canceled and the full amount immediately refunded to my account.

Michele said...

Don't feel bad at all. My CC hasn't posted anything yet but I don't mind paying shipping for yummy stuff. I think it is wrong to get an email confirmation with an amount and get charged another without the company contacting you.

Anonymous said...

ok i just spoke to them and they are crediting back my cc and still sending out my stuff for .24 cents...

Anonymous said...

The $25 off code didn't work for me, so I used the $15 off code on an item that was $17.99. Thus I only got the discount off of the item, and paid for shipping. I didn't think $10 was too bad, it's a gift anyhow.
I'm so glad it didn't work, because it sounds like a headache.

Tressa Card said...

I was kinda bummed I missed the deal but now I feel like I'm the lucky one. Collin, it is not your fault..Thanks for always finding the good deals!!
I check your blog all the time and love all the new deals.

Anonymous said...

not your fault!!!! i wanted some cheap chocolate but missed out.

Tressa Card said...

I was kinda bummed I missed the deal but now I feel like I'm the lucky one. Collin, it is not your fault..Thanks for always finding the good deals!!
I check your blog all the time and love all the new deals.

Andrea A. said...

Be patient people. I know I am worried too. Tried calling a lot of wait time right now.

By their laws they have to honor a deal. I have 2 confirmations for my totals. Nothing pending or trying to go through on my card yet. Actually they should have to honor the deal. They will take the hit and write it off on their taxes.

I will wait and see I guess!!

Anonymous said...

Thank you for your honesty and sincerity!

Anonymous said...

I would almost report them to my credit card company.. I get that the deal wasn't supposed to go thru, but to send a confirmation and then charge you an amount that you did not accept is wrong! very wrong. They have your number for a reason, they should have contacted me before charging an amount I did not accept. :(

Holly said...

I'm not complaining.... I kept hitting numbers and found "10575" which gave me the $15.00 off of an item. I ordered the truffles for $17.99. With shipping, it amounted to $10.24. That's pretty darn good for 16 truffles! Now, I have to decide if I sit and eat these Peg Bundy style or if I stash them away for a gift!!!

Anonymous said...

I spoke to my CC company and they did indeed charge me more than they shoud have. I'm on hold right now for Fannie May and am debating with myself about whether to cancel the order or wait and file with my Amex. I explained to the Amex ep the deal and she said it would not be hard to file at all.

It would have been okay to cancel the order - a bummer, but okay - charging more than agreed to is NOT okay and likely illegal.

K.O. said...

I called the company regarding my order, sat on hold for 10-15 minutes. When I finally got through to someone, she was having a hard time pulling my order information, and read me 3 other customers names and addresses before she read mine. How unprofessional...and kind of scary. Well, somehow we mysteriously got disconnected, so I'm on round 2 of holding. I hope I am able to cancel my order! How disappointing :(

Lynn said...

It's absolutely NOT your fault. It is exactly the company's website and ordering process which is misleading. They should really pay for it. So no need to apologize or feel bad! :-)

Anonymous said...

I would like to see them charge something that i did not agree too. This is not our fault that this worked. If they do charge i will be contacting the BBB and setting them straight. They need to honor these deals.

Anonymous said...

Let me state first that I am NOT an attorney but my husband IS. I am not canceling my order and I don't have anything showing yet on my C.C. statement. When my order arrives and I am charged the wrong amount---an amount I didn't agree to when I pressed that "place order" button, heads are gonna roll. They can't just go and change what they are billing you. It isn't legal. My understanding is that pushing that "place order" button is the same as signing the receipt at a store that says on the bottom that you agree to the amount charged and we all know that they can't go after the fact and change the amount you are charged. If they made a mistake then they are more than welcome to cancel my order, otherwise they will honor the sale they agreed to. Imagine starting a class action suit against Fannie Mae with all of us who have been "wronged" over some chocolate;-)

Andrea said...

Called my bank. They said if total charges is different from my receipt and email total confirmations they will dispute it. Just told me to keep hold of my receipt and emails.

They can't charge more than the original agreement.

Hope that helps!

Anonymous said...

I have been on hold waiting to talk to someone now for 10 minutes, I hope it wont be too late to cancel my order.

Anonymous said...

I called Fannie May and got the most polite CS agent, named LouAnn. In my case, the $15 code did not go through even though she could see that it was on there. So she is crediting my card the $15, which will make my order the $3.24 it is supposed to be (instead of the $15.24 charged to my card). I get to keep my order.

Be nice the CS people and explain the problem to them. Mine was apologetic and helpful!

Anonymous said...

Annon with the Attorney Hubby.. Im on board.. They need to honor this.

Anonymous said...

Thanks, anon 2:23p.m.----if they want their silly peanut brittle back they can come take it out of dear old hubby's mouth and even I wouldn't be brave enough to do that! Hee-hee-hee!

Anonymous said...

16 minutes of holding but the very kind man said that he would credit my card and I would only be charged the .76 cents that I was supposed to. Good Deal. I am happy now!

Anonymous said...

I am sure we all having their legal department buzzing.

K.O. said...

Wow, after holding for 10 minutes twice, I spoke with a very unpleasant lady who acted like the company had done nothing wrong. She is under the impression that it's okay to charge a different amount than what was agreed to on the order confirmation. That's awesome that some of you got representatives that were willing to credit your account and honor the price! No such luck with my rosey rep :)

Anonymous said...

I also got a great customer service rep. She was totally confused and said the system made an error and should not have given money off the shipping. I purchased the leaves and then purchased the truffles. She said it looks like they are only charging me $1.23
(.99 for the leaves and .24 for the truffles)Not sure how she got the .99 for the leaves because my receipt said .76. Anyway, my cc does not show any charges yet. I guess I will just have to wait and see!!!!

Savvy Chic Savings said...

I just spoke with a rep who said they show they will charge me more than my receipts show. She recommended I wait for my bank to show the charges and then call them back? She wasn't willing to do an adjustment at this time.

SuzyQpon said...

Anyone have an email address for them? It might be easier than inundating them with calls. Easier for us and them!

No worries Collin - you didn't know!

Anonymous said...

What I have learned is the old adage, "If it's too good o be true then it probably is not true" is NOT true. Most of the deals listed by you are deals that are very good and they are true so there is no need for you to apologize for issue.

Anonymous said...

the email address is on the con. email that they sent you

Vicki H. said...

Regarding whoever told you about the too good to be true advice, it is timeless and applies nearly everywhere in our lives. But it doesn't apply on this website in all the same ways it does everywhere else: free food, free clothes, free medicines and more are a reality to many of us because of this site. Keep on posting these unrealistic deals because i scored 16 free boxes of Quaker oatmeal at Walgreens last weekend because of you (boxes with coupons in them)! That would seem too good to be true!

Anonymous said...

I also spoke with Luanne and then with Mary. Both were incredibly helpful and I will be credited the $25 for each order. This should show up on my card in about a week.

Anonymous said...

I can't wait for these charges to go through my bank at more than the receipt said. It is totally ilegal for them to charge more than on the receupt and I would not be surprised if this resulted in lawsuits.

Anonymous said...

Vicki, how did you get coupons for Quaker Oats?

Nicole said...

I spoke with LouAnn also and she was very nice and is refunding me $25.00 for each order since that is about what they charged me over what my receipts said.

teeniebeenie6 said...

I got an encouraging email response from customer service:

"Thank you for contacting us regarding the incorrect charge to your
account. We have been made aware of the system error and are in the
process of correcting all orders affected. You will only be charged the
amount you were given in your order confirmation. Please contact us via
email or at 1-800-333-3629 if you have any further questions"

Mindy R said...

I emailed them asking them to cancel the orders if they were going to charge the shipping. I got an email back saying they will go ahead an honor the price that I agreed to at check out. They said they realize the glitch and they are fixing it but will honor the prices that we agreed to pay.

Anonymous said...

I love the idea of free goodies who doesn't, but I'll still take cheap so I resolved that I'd be happy to pay the $6.95 shipping if my order remained free. When I checked my statement and it was over the shipping charge amount I gave them a call. They were extremely nice and honored the pricing I received from them originally.

In this case it was a computer glitch they said but you have to be careful not to jump the gun too fast, when an amount is in your pending transactions it isn't final. Some companies charge a place holder amount that is removed when your charge is finalized.

Liza said...

I talked to a great man named AJ. He credited my account and I will be only charged what i was previously quoted.

Andrea said...

Don't worry about this Collin, it is not your fault and you shouldn't apologize. You have no control over what a company decides to do/not to do with regards to promotional codes. I wasn't able to snag one of these deals, but that's ok; I will catch the next one :-)

Anonymous said...

I emailed Fannie May and received the same email response as teeniebeenie6!

Anonymous said...

I called the customer service rep and he was very applogetic and said that I would be refunded the amount I was overcharged and still get my order :)

Anonymous said...

woohoo candy for .24

Anonymous said...

I jsut called customer service and the person I spoke with adjusted my two orders so I will only be charged the 67 cents I was told in my confirmation. I couldn't believe it.

Anonymous said...

Wish all the costumer service would react the same way...some people are still getting the deal and while I'm glad for them :) it's annoying that it depends on who you are talking to. :(

Anonymous said...

There is a new code that gives you 20% off and free shipping if anyone is interested..

10579

Anonymous said...

i think you should email them. i emailed them and got the same email as everyone else. that i'd be charged what they said. so i get to pay $0.24 still...well until it shows up on my credit card bill. anyway thanks collin :D

Anonymous said...

4:20 IA time and Fannie Mae customer service said that my final charge will not include shipping and will remain 24 cents. . . MKW

Anonymous said...

I just got off the phone with their customer service as well and they are only charging me the .76 amount.

Tina said...

Here is their customer service number 1(800)333-3629...I'm calling right now.

Anonymous said...

We all have enough anyway, right?! I didn't 'score' on any of these deals and that is okay! I love deals and chocolate like anyone else but by the time I got onto the site it was supposedly nil. I missed out on the cookie scooper too but you know, you just can't snag everything. ;) I am having a ball with this newfound venture and am finding myself going, 'well, I am not going to clip that coupon b/c we don't use it or need it' but putting someone else in those shoes who does or would. Let's just all remember to be nice to one another and to the customer service folks b/c usually w/anything they will be more than willing to accommodate you since you are the paying customer! Happy 'Early' Holidays folks!

Nichole said...

Vickie H, what is the quaker oats deal?

Anonymous said...

any idea when the credit back will be done my card is still showing 18.24!

Anonymous said...

The deal is working again for the $15 off and they have new Christmas santa choc. for $7.99. My total showed $-.76. They have to honor I would think. If not it was worth the try and they will cancel. i got a confirmation!

Brad and Kim said...

I canceled my order yesterday, and got a shipment confirmation today. So I called Fannie May to verify that I had cancelled. Very nice guy answered and basically said "Whoops, enjoy your free chocolate." Double Score!!!